Finalists revealed: 2017 NAWIC Awards

39 finalists have been announced in the third annual Hays National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) Excellence Awards, which reflects the outstanding contribution being made by women across the industry.

The awards, which will be held at Auckland’s Aotea Centre on Friday 18 August, celebrate the achievements of women in construction along with honouring organisations that are actively working to redress the industry’s gender imbalance.

NAWIC president Donna Howell says the finalists are blazing a trail for others to follow while showcasing the huge variety of career opportunities for women in construction.

“We had over 80 entries this year, which made it very difficult to select the finalists from among so many talented women. It’s inspiring to see increasing numbers of women having such a huge impact on New Zealand’s growing construction industry,” she says.

The awards have six categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry.

The finalists in each category are:

The Helen Tippett Award:

  • Becky Macdonald (Beca)
  • Laura Clifford (Hawkins Construction)
  • Pam Bell (Prefab NZ)
  • Robyn Phipps (Massey University)
  • Sue Bradley (Beca)

Tradeswoman of the Year:

  • Laisa Pickering (Electrix Ltd)
  • Lisa Lawrence (Basically Floors Ltd)
  • Melvina Browne Uriarau (LiveWire Electrical)
  • Tina Mehlhopt (Honeybone Builders)
  • Verena Maeder (Solid Earth Ltd)

Professional Woman of the Year:

  • Andrea Williamson (Fletcher Construction)
  • Andrea Jarvis (Holmes Consulting Group)
  • Carolynn Marot (CPB Contractors)
  • Donna Bridgman (GHD NZ Ltd)
  • Hayley Tribble (Tripro Ltd)
  • Lana Duboka (AECOM)
  • Rachael Rush (Klein Ltd)

Outstanding Achievement in Design:

  • Esther Loh (Beca)
  • Sheila Karimi (Beca)
  • Sian France (Beca)

Excellence in Construction Administration:

  • Bev McKay (Registered Master Builders Association)
  • Carolyn Jane (Signature Residential Ltd)
  • Sophie Lackey (Leighs Construction Ltd)
  • Sally Davis (BCITO)
  • Sarah Greenwood (Respond Architects)
  • Emma Cushnie (Fulton Hogan)

Rising Star Award:

  • Steph McLeod (Stantec NZ Ltd)
  • Harriet-Rose Follas (Beca)
  • Jordan Kirk (Fulton Hogan Ltd)
  • Stephanie Cerpa (Contract Construction)
  • Vikki Stephens (Beca)
  • Willien Irvia (Rawlinsons Ltd)

Student/Apprentice Excellence Award:

  • Emily Sutton (City Care Ltd)
  • Nikita Ward (Hutt Gas and Plumbing Systems Ltd)
  • Amritpal Kaur (AUT)
  • Fahimeh Zaeri (AUT)
  • Gillian Linton (Arvinda)
  • Lisa Brook (Signature Homes Ltd)
  • Megan Burfoot (AUT)

Tickets for the 2017 Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards on 18 August are available from Eventfinda. Visit the NAWIC website for further information.

More news

Most read