Interior Awards launched in New Zealand

Click to enlarge
Interior Awards launched in New Zealand


Presented by Interior magazine, the Interior Awards recognise excellence in interior architecture and spatial design and will be judged by a panel of industry experts.

Finalists and winners, and their projects, along with the teams that have delivered these projects, will receive considerable media recognition via AGM Publishing’s highly regarded portfolio of magazines and digital platforms. All shortlisted and awarded projects will be permanent additions to the online Awards gallery on ArchitectureNow.

Entries for the Interior Awards 2012 are open. Enter here. Judging will take place in April 2012 followed by an Awards function in June.  

The Interior Awards is the only awards programme of its kind in New Zealand with a sole focus on commercial interior design, and features an impressive line up judges – Kirsty Mitchell (Director, Veneer), Rick Pearson (Principal, Pearson & Associates), Andrea Steffenson (Director, MCS Property Group), Michael Barrett (Editor, Interior) and Kathryn Taylor (Director, The Ivory Studio).

Sponsors include Lundia, GEON, Resene, INZIDE commercialPSPLGBKA and Kada.

Entry categories

The primary categories for entry are:
Retail – shops, retail outlets, showrooms, department stores, food markets, hairdressers, doctors and dentists’ rooms
Hospitality – cafes, bars, restaurants, motels, hotels, boutique lodges, day spas, casinos, clubs, cinemas, fitness centres
Corporate Workplace – offices, studios, warehouses, factories
Culture, Civic and Health – galleries, museums, concert halls, theatres, exhibition venues, places of worship, educational institutions, hospitals, libraries, community centres, consulates, law courts, parliamentary buildings, airports, railway stations, port and ferry terminals
Installation Design – temporary installations and structures, set design, gallery and museum exhibitions

The optional category for entry is:
Emerging Interior Design Practice – where the principal of the practice is less than 40 years old at the time of project completion  

Awards and commendations
Up to 3 finalists from each category will be selected
One supreme winner will emerge from the selected finalists

A cash prize of $6,000 will be awarded to the Supreme Winner
A cash prize of $1,000 will be awarded to the Emerging Interior Design Practice

More news

Making moves

Making moves

Partner Content: INZIDE Commercial takes possession of a new warehouse in Auckland.
Te Whitianga: the crossing

Te Whitianga: the crossing

Warren and Mahoney and Boffa Miskell have collaborated on the Hendon footbridge – Te Whitianga – which is to open shortly.
Making her mark

Making her mark

Architectural grad Hannah Broatch of Unitec has won one of 8 prizes at the prestigious 2017 Hunter Douglas Archiprix Awards.
Lexus + Sofitel competition winner announced

Lexus + Sofitel competition

Announcing the winner of the luxury weekend prize at the Lexus Design Awards installation from this year’s Designday event.

Most read

On The Rise: Maria Chen

On The Rise: Maria Chen

For the third On The Rise interview, we talk to Maria Chen, an architectural graduate at Athfield Architects in Christchurch.
On the edge: The Farm

On the edge: The Farm

A new coastal home by Fergus Scott Architects that can accommodate up to thirty relatives and friends.